When I Grow Up…

What is your dream job? What is something that you have always wanted to try, but never had the guts to do it? What is something that you are really good at or passionate about, but that trait doesn’t apply to your “day job”?

Being self-employed I have a lot of flexibility in my schedule. There are pros and cons to working for yourself. I love the flexibility that we have, the freedom to adapt and change if we need to, but there is also no one to blame but yourself when things don’t work out right.

If you had asked me 10 years ago, what my life would look like now, it would not have been the life that I am living. In high school, I was a waitress, but wanted to be a psychologist. In college, I was a sports videographer, but wanted to be a teacher. After graduation, I was a teacher, but wanted to be anything but! Then I was a farmer with my husband and in-laws, and now we have a rental property and sell farm equipment.

I told you… ten years ago… this is not how I would have pictured my life.

It always amazes me how life twists and turns and you don’t end up where you think you are going to. And believe me, I am not complaining. I love my life, but I am always looking at what is just over the horizon. How can I push myself to grow? How can I be doing more? Selling farm equipment and having a rental property is great and all, but I don’t think that is my purpose in life.

One of the things my husband always teases me about is that I love change.

He grew up on a family farm. A farm that has been in his family for generations. It was never really a question for him what he would do as a job. He wanted to be a farmer – end of story.

He had his goal in mind from the beginning. I, on the other hand, did not. I was never really set in stone what I wanted to “be when I grew up.” It was always a sort of question mark. Sometimes that can feel daunting, but sometimes it can leave you open to endless possibilities.

So what is my purpose? What was I created for?

Now, I may get some differing opinions on this, but I believe I was created to love and serve God Almighty. When I came to Christ, a short 5 years ago, it became clear to me very quickly that God was the most important and the best “boss” I would ever have.

I hate to use the term “boss”, because He is so much more than that, but to stay true with the analogy I’m going to leave it.

I’ve recently seen a meme going around that says, “People don’t leave bad jobs, they leave bad bosses.” I 100% agree with this. If someone is making you feel unappreciated and unimportant, no matter how much you LOVE your job, you aren’t going to feel obligated to stay or even work very hard.

th4A2BOII9

What if you had a boss that:

  • only wants what is best for you
  • knows your strengths and weaknesses (sometimes before you do) and gives you tasks that compliment those traits
  • forgives you EVERYTIME you ask after you have done something wrong
  • takes the time to talk to you and get to know you
  • appreciates and loves you

I’ll tell you what, I’ve had some pretty amazing bosses in my life (and some pretty horrendous ones!), but God far exceeds them all! He is definitely someone that I want to work for. When we have good bosses who make us feel appreciated and important, we feel more motivated and more committed to the goal at hand. We feel invested. We feel valued and excited for the task ahead.

So, this working for God thing…what does that look like? Well, I think it looks different for everyone. Even day to day it can be different. God doesn’t always give us a specific list of tasks that we need to accomplish. Yes, sometimes he does call people to do specific things, but it normally isn’t a day by day schedule for our lives. Wouldn’t that be nice?

Monday – Help Mrs. MacCallister with her errands.

Tuesday – Lead a prayer group with your neighbors

Wednesday – Talk to the guy that you meet at the grocery store and help him heal his hurting heart.

Next year – Move to a different state and start a new church.

Most of us don’t get a nice, neat list like this with what we are supposed to do with our lives. So how do we figure out exactly what we are supposed to be doing for God?

There is one scripture that jumped out at me when I was researching this.

“…make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; and to godliness, mutual affection; and to mutual affection, love.  For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. But whoever does not have them is nearsighted and blind, forgetting that they have been cleansed from their past sins” (2 Peter 1:5-9).

These are all things that we can be doing each day to be “working” for God and being the most productive and effective for the greatest boss in the world. These are all attributes that are in our “job description”, no matter what your specific “job” is.

Goodness – Be kind and good to those around you.

Knowledge – Read your Bible and get to know God better.

Self-Control – Steel yourself against the temptations (whatever that might look like for you -cheesecake, drugs, sex, gossip, temper tantrums).

Perseverance – When things get tough, when you want to give in and just quit this stupid job – Don’t give up! You can do it.

Godliness – Be an example for others by showing honesty and virtue.

Mutual Affection – Show devotion and loyalty to those in your life

Love – And it all ends with love. Love is the binding agent, the end-all be-all in this equation. If we are loving God and loving others, than no matter what we are doing we are doing it for God. That is why, when asked, Jesus said the most important commandments were, “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment.  And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’  All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments” (Matt 22:37-40).

You might be that person that gets a specific message from God about what you are supposed to do with your life; be a pastor, a teacher, a missionary in China, start a church, start a homeless shelter, start a blog, start a family, but until then work at those job descriptors and you will be surprised at how much you and God can accomplish together. Because I can tell you one thing, God isn’t a boss that’s going to send you out and expect you to do it all. He is right there beside you. He is in the trenches working alongside you, because after all, isn’t that what a good boss does?  He supports you, encourages you, helps you, trains you, praises you.

Whatever you are doing, “Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go” (Josh 1:9).

imagesKP1MW72J.jpg

 

2 thoughts on “When I Grow Up…

  1. Absolutely love this one. Hugs, hugs, hugs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

